Movie Review: Hot Tub Time Machine (2010)

 

hot tub time

Hot Tub Time Machine is directed by Steve Pink, starring John Cusack, Rob Corddry, Craig Robinson,Clark Duke, and Chevy Chase is about four friends stuck in a point where they are not happy with their adulthood, they are given a chase to change their future when they go back in time when they had a night full of booze and a hot tub to 1986.

Positives:

I really enjoyed the premise of the movie, of going back in time to the place where they felt was the year they felt happy, as well as seeing the consequences, and perks of going back which might change their future. I really liked the chemistry the guys had, because it felt like you can see friends like that in real life, and you can feel how the friends interact with each other that can show why they are like that, and friends. My favorite character was Nick ( Robinson) because his story is the one I cared about the most out of the four because in his story you see him as a man who is in love with his unfaithful wife, who works at a dog store, and someone who wanted to be a singer, but was ended so quickly when he was young. You get to see him go through what he did when he was younger, and trying to recreate it to keep his life the same, but you can see him struggle going through the process. I  also liked Jacob (Duke) because he was the young one of the group, and you got to see him experience life in 86′, and trying to get his friends in check to go through everything, so they can go back to the present, and it was also funny seeing him interact with Lou (Corddry) because of their differences. I liked seeing the references throughout the movie seeing things brought back from the 80’s, as well as crazy situations that they had to go through.

Negatives:

Some jokes were a hit or miss for me especially with Lou, and some of the characters who had smaller roles. A lot can be shown as over the top at times more than you can see as entertaining, but a little off from the beat of the movie. My negatives of this movie can be different for each person.

Favorite Moments: (Spoilers)

+ Lou’s home sweet home scene

+ Nick crying while being with a woman

+Jacob finding out who his father is

+ The bellhop moments

+ The three going back to the present, and seeing how it has changed

Overall I enjoy the movie, this movie made me laugh in majority of the film, the chemistry is great with the group.

I give Hot Tub Time Machine a B+.

hot tub.jpg

 

Published by Sanctuary movie reviews

Hello! I do movie and tv show reviews. From new to old I just enjoy talking about it and discussing it with others :) Please follow me for the latest reviews Thank you

One thought on “Movie Review: Hot Tub Time Machine (2010)

Leave a comment